The Academy of Magical Sciences was established in 1996 at Thiruvananthapuram, the capital city of Kerala with the basic objective of upholding the torch of science, dismantling superstitions and for popularizing magic as an art and science. It is the hub of magic where the dreams and desires of Indian magician’s especially street magicians are transformed in to reality.

Magic Academy plays a key role in uplifting magic from the streets and elevating it to the level of an exciting form, at par with other performing arts. With decade of altruistic service, now the academy has become the shelter of magicians from all over the country to assemble, discuss and evolve solutions for their day today affairs.

The founding Patron of the organization was late Malayatoor Ramakrishnan, prominent writer, cartoonist and IAS officer. Following his idea of establishing an institution for the study of magic, Asia's first Magic Academy was started in 1996. He was the first patron and following his demise in 1998, renowned poet and Jnanpith Award winner, ONV Kurup (Ottaplakal Neelakandan Velu Kurup) took over as the patron of the Magic Academy. Now the torch of leadership is in the hands of Adoor Gopalakrishnan, acclaimed film Director and Dada Saheb Phalke award winner.

The name of The Academy of Magical Sciences was changed to Different Art Centre in September 2023, as the activities of The Academy of Magical Sciences was focussed more on the promotion and welfare of differently-abled children.

Key Personnel at Different Art Centre